See to seize, survive and thrive.

Boss: Know no bounds

See to seize, survive and thrive

Entering the world of an aspiring entrepreneur is such a foreign world to me. While I am still doing a lot of learning, these past 4 years (since starting this side hustle), has been quite the adventure. Just like any new learning experience, it’s a wild ride you are not too sure if you want to stay on or get off.

Lucky for me, I have always thrived in the unknown (strangely enough, not in the ‘go into a haunted house’ type of thrill) but more of a ‘ dive into a ridiculous situation & hope I float’) type of way.

As a newbie in the world of being an aspiring entrepreneur, it is certainly emphasized that you have to be willing to take a risk; and you have to believe in your abilities to succeed….even when you aren’t too sure of yourself.  The old adage saying “Fake it till you make it” is what gets me through those moments where I have gotten discouraged in this learning process. That mantra is what gets me through times that lack clarity or when the thoughts of self-doubt start to infiltrate. It is amazing to learn what you are truly capable of when put under outrageous circumstances.  When my back is against the wall, I tend to perform better under pressure.

The idea of ‘faking it till I make it’ in the small business realm isn’t easy. Sure, repeating it over and over like a broken record helps; but for me, I need a little bit more than that. Here are my strategies that help me “fake it till I make it”.

  1. Act as if you know what you are doing. People who invest in you want confidence & assurance that you know what you are doing. Yes, for the most part, you are great in what you do; but in those moments when you are unsure of yourself, sometimes you have to play the part of the expert. Or maybe you have to believe that you can make that (unrealistic) deadline. In the end, sometimes you surprise yourself in what you can do  when you initially were unsure of your capabilities.
  2. Don’t be afraid to be wrong. Mistakes happen. Yes, there will be moments where you underestimate yourself. We’ve all been there where we over-committed (at least I know I have). It’s important to note that the minute you recognize that you have been in the wrong, apologize immediately and determine an action plan to rectify the situation. Everyone has been in a pickle at some point or another. The trick is: don’t make the same mistake with that same customer. If you’ve set out a modified plan, follow through with it; no ifs and or buts. And then forgive yourself after all is said and done.
  3. Learn from each opportunity. In all success or non-success moments, there is always something to be learned. Seize those moments of achievement; and replicate those steps in future opportunities. Celebrate those successes because each one is huge. For the latter moments, reflect on what that limitation was and try not to repeat it. If you fall & trip, get up and keep on trucking. Yes, falling smack down on your face can be humiliating; but there is nothing more humbling than falling & rising above that fall.
  4. Build credibility. All your successes will contribute to your credibility. All the positive feedback on what you do will build your integrity as a small business. The customers who show their loyalty through repeated involvement with you demonstrate your credibility. Track your progress and share your successes. When other (future customers) begin to hear about what you offer, your business is bound to expand.
  5. Take the time to learn & grow. There is always something to be learned. Whether its refining a skill, expanding you current repertoire of skills, or learning something new, you can only benefit and grow as a business when you enhance your knowledge-base.

As a (newbie) self-employed boss, the concept of “know no bounds” is really all about seizing all opportunities with an attitude of conquering it all despite any challenges that come your way.

For me, it’s eyes on the prize of building my small empire & exploring the craft world, while strutting through,  in my best outfit like I’m the boss (even in moments when I feel like I have no clue what I’m doing ).

Always me, SoireeFrills Co.

This week, I continue to be highly motivated by orders coming through my way. We are into week 3 into the new year; and the momentum that typically comes along with new year’s resolutions continue to carry me through.

Boss-in-training: No-no bounds

Don’t be afraid to fly

I love birds. Birds are a symbol of freedom. They seem so carefree when I see them up in the sky soaring above. If it’s one thing I want my girls to know, it’s teaching them to find their wings and to capitalize on spreading their wings.

I truly feel that people are meant to feel free in what they choose to do.

I recognize that teaching someone else to fly (obviously in a metaphoric sense) is scary, especially as a parent who sits on the other side of the fence when looking into raising their child. To fly is to risk falling; and falling means the risk of  hurting oneself. This essentially means when you allow someone to fly, you risk seeing that person fall. As a parent, you never want to see your child struggle, fail, or cry….but  just as there is a correlation between rain and rainbows, flying and falling go hand in hand like two peas in a pod. The risk of falling is quite high when one flies; but the goods that come with flying are that much more extraordinary…and I want them to find their extraordinary.

I want them to know that the world is theirs to explore, that there is nothing out of reach in this world. I want them to feel that life is an adventure worth taking risks. At the end of the day, who wouldn’t want to feel free & invincible like a bird?

Dear Elle and Enne,

I want you to be free just like the birds in the sky. The possibilities in life are endless if you take a chance on life and on yourself. You can do whatever you want (unless of course it’s to elope with a stranger, then you surely cannot do that). I want you to pursue your dreams. There is no such thing as impossible. Don’t let anyone tell you something is impossible…and if they do, I will be secretly cheerleading you to prove them wrong. Don’t be afraid to find your wings; don’t be afraid to fly.

 In your journey of growth, if and when there are moments that you fall, fail or lose your way, I will be right here to pick you up. If your wings ever need mending so that you can return back to flying, I will be there in a moment’s notice. The world is yours to explore.

Love, Mom

Author: Soiree Frills Co.

Passionate about celebrating (big or small) milestones throughout the lifespan. Adding a splash of FRILL and fun to your celebrations. Pursuing the dream of "do what you love". And I love coffee and running.

Leave a Reply

